248 - Bad Taste?

Developer diaries about creating Neverending Nightmares.
matt

248 - Bad Taste?

Post by matt »

As a horror game developer, I am sometimes faced with the question of whether something is "in bad taste". Is there such a thing in horror? Shockingly gross things play a role in the genre, but when do you want to use them? This video contains some sketches from Neverending Nightmares that seemed inappropriate, so watcher beware!

What do YOU think? Is there such a thing as bad taste? What's the role of the "gross out" in horror?
-Matt Gilgenbach
Lead Frightener at Infinitap Games
evilkinggumby

Re: 248 - Bad Taste?

Post by evilkinggumby »

(Note: Spoiler flags on examples of extreme bad taste and potentially offensive/disturbing imagery described. Skip it if you need to)

Bad Taste and if something is tasteful is always going to be a fairly subjective notion. I remember when I saw the last Batman movie and it was after the shootings of the same said movie a week before. I cracked a joke during the previews about shot on site and my wife got really pissed at me, as the joke was "too soon" and so in bad taste. That, to me, is kind of what most things called "bad taste" are, cheap shots that are especially offensive or hurtful to some that could overhear it.